Past Scientech Programs in 2019



1/7/2019 --- Challenges of Health Care in rural America Speaker: Elvin Plank (Email: eplank@ihcinc.org) Sponsored By: Don Mink
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



1/14/2019 --- Benford's Law helps identify fraudsters Speaker: Greg Wright (Email: cfegreg@gmail.com) Sponsored By: Greg Wright
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



1/21/2019 --- Write Now, Right Now! Speaker: Alicia Rasley (Email: rasley@juno.com) Sponsored By: Jeff Rasley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



1/28/2019 --- My two years as a surgeon in Vietnam. Speaker: Dr. Gilbert Herod (Email: gherod1@me.com) Sponsored By: John Peer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



2/4/2019 --- Should you be afraid of X-ray radiation from Medical imaging. Speaker: Dr. Mervyn D. Cohen (Email: mecohen@iupui.edu) Sponsored By: Alison Brown
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



2/11/2019 --- Tropical Forest Resilience and the Role of Nutrients Speaker: Annette Trierweiler (Email: annette.trierweiler@gmail.com) Sponsored By: M. P. Meisenheimer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



2/18/2019 --- Amish of Shipshewanna: Keeping Identity and Boundaries Speaker: Dorothy Pratt (Email: DorothyPratt2@gmail.com) Sponsored By: Robert Yee
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



2/25/2019 --- INDPLS TRACTION TERMINAL 1904-72: THE 8TH WONDER OF THE WORLD. Speaker: Roger Robison (Email: hotdog@compuserve.com) Sponsored By: ROGER ROBISON
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



3/4/2019 --- A Walk Through the Cemetery Speaker: Jeannie Regan-Dinius (Email: jrdinius@dnr.in.gov) Sponsored By: Alison Brown
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



3/11/2019 --- Touring Washington DC Speaker: Dr. Alan D. Schmidt (Email: alan.schmidt@att.net) Sponsored By: Dr. Alan D. Schmidt
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



3/18/2019 --- Purdue's Research Focus: Basic Research to Clinical Application Speaker: Timothy Ratliff (Email: tlratliff@purdue.edu) Sponsored By: John Rathman
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



3/25/2019 --- Aging, Cognition, & Memory Speaker: Dr. Charles Morris (Email: charliemorris04@gmaIL.com) Sponsored By: Glenn Jay Bingle MD PhD MACP
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



4/1/2019 --- Ecological Restoration as a strategy for conserving imperiled butterfly communities. Speaker: John Shuey (Email: jshuey@tnc.org) Sponsored By: David Culp
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



4/8/2019 --- Enigmatic Earthworks, Witch-Hunts, and the People from the Dawn: Indigenous History in East-Central Indiana Speaker: Chris Flook (Email: caflook@bsu.edu) Sponsored By: Alison Brown
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



4/15/2019 --- TOUR--- IDNR Fish Hatchery, Martinsville, IN Speaker: Jeff Moritz Sponsored By: James Bettner
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



4/22/2019 --- Have you inherited a Hereditary Cancer Syndrome? Speaker: Glenn J. Bingle, MD, PhD (Email: 5834gjb@comcast.com) Sponsored By: Hank Wolfla
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



4/29/2019 --- THE AMERICAN INDIAN CULTURAL COLLAPSE IN 1300 A.D. Speaker: GREG WRIGHT (Email: cfegreg@gmail.com) Sponsored By: GREG WRIGHT
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



5/6/2019 --- Deep Learning Explained: The Future of Smart Networks Speaker: Melanie Swan (Email: Swan3@purdue.edu) Sponsored By: Dr. Alan D. Schmidt
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



5/13/2019 --- Marian University STEM Summer Camps Speaker: Janice Hicks Slaughter (Email: jhslaughter@marian.edu) Sponsored By: Jeff Rasley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



5/20/2019 --- Allison Rolls- Royce: A Century in Indianapolis Speaker: Phillip Cagle (Email: pvc957@gmail.com) Sponsored By: John Rathman
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



6/3/2019 --- Why Is That So Funny? - Insights into aspects of Jewish humor Speaker: Dick Wolfsie (Email: wolfsie@aol.com) Sponsored By: Gerald Keener
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



6/10/2019 --- 1953 Summit of Mt. Everest and the 2003 50th Anniversary Celebration in Nepal Speaker: Jeff Rasley (Email: jeffrasley@gmail.com) Sponsored By: Jeff Rasley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



6/17/2019 --- Sexuality and Aging: Embracing Change Speaker: William Yarber (Email: yarber@indiana.edu) Sponsored By: M. P. Meisenheimer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



6/24/2019 --- TOUR--- Tour of REMC Electric Power Generating Station, Mermom, In Speaker: Lisa Hendrickson (Email: Tel:812-876-2021) Sponsored By: Jim Bettner
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



7/1/2019 --- Creating STEM Opportunities for Members of Girls Inc. Speaker: Madeline Smith (Email: msmith@girlsinc.org) Sponsored By: Jeff Rasley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



7/8/2019 --- Landing on the Moon, the Voyage of Apollo XI Speaker: Greg McCauley (Email: kwilliams@linkobservatory.org) Sponsored By: M. P. Meisenheimer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



7/15/2019 --- 50 Years Since The Moon Landing Speaker: scientechsummer@gmail.com (Email: Chris Edwards) Sponsored By: Jeff Rasley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



7/22/2019 --- National Parks of the United States Speaker: Bill & Lou Stanley (Email: billstnl@gmail.com) Sponsored By: Bill Stanley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



7/29/2019 --- All about Skin Cancer--What's New and What's Important Speaker: Dr. C. William Hanke,MD,MPH, FACP (Email: cwhanke@thelassi.com) Sponsored By: Tom Nicholls
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



8/5/2019 --- The Search for a Meaningful Life in Retirement Speaker: Dr. Charles Morris (Email: charliemorris04@gmail.com) Sponsored By: Glen Jay Bingle, M.D, PhD, MACP
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



8/12/2019 --- Return to the Moon Speaker: Kurt Williams Sponsored By: Marty Meisenheimer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



8/19/2019 --- 200th anniversary of IU Lecture-James Watson and the structure of DNA Speaker: Richard Gunderman (Email: rbgunder@iu.edu) Sponsored By: Marvin Miller
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



8/26/2019 --- 10 Most Endangered Speaker: Suzanne Stanis (Email: SStanis@indianalandmarks.org) Sponsored By: Jeff Rasley
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



9/9/2019 --- Marian University, School of Osteopathic Medicine Speaker: Donald Sefcik, DO MBA (Email: dsefcik@marian.edu) Sponsored By: margaret l sabens
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



9/16/2019 --- Purdue University Global- personalized online educational for the working adult Speaker: Carolyn Nordstrom (Email: cnordstrom@purdueglobal.edu) Sponsored By: M. P. Meisenheimer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



9/23/2019 --- Scientific Contributions by the Current Nobel Prize Winners in Physics, Chemistry, and Medicine Speaker: Messrs. R.Carter, A.Schmidt, T.Lauer (Email: (Refer to Club Roster)) Sponsored By: Jim Willson
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



9/30/2019 --- “Pleased to Meet Me: How Genes, Germs, and the Environment Make Us Who We Are” Speaker: Bill Sullivan, Ph.D. (Email: wjsulliv@iu.edu) Sponsored By: Alison Brown
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



10/7/2019 --- Famous Hoosiers Speaker: Mickey Maurer (Email: mmaurer@ibj.com) Sponsored By: Helmi Banta
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



10/14/2019 --- The prediction of human physical appearance from DNA Speaker: Susan Walsh (Email: walshsus@iupui.edu) Sponsored By: Malcolm Mallette
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



10/21/2019 --- Malaria: History and Current Status Speaker: David C. Matlack, DVM (Email: dmatlack@indiana.edu) Sponsored By: Dr. Alan Dale Schmidt
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



10/28/2019 --- TOUR--- Oral Argument Speaker: Margaret Robb, Indiana Ct of Appeals (Email: ashley.reed@courts.IN.gov) Sponsored By: Springer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



11/4/2019 --- TOUR--- Purdue Cancer Research Center Speaker: Timothy Ratliff, Ph.D (Email: tratliff@purdue.edu) Sponsored By: Jim Bettner
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



11/11/2019 --- Veterans Day Salute Speaker: New Horizons Swing Band Sponsored By: George McCord
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



11/18/2019 --- Assessingthe Real World Risks and Benefits of Medications That Can BE Abused Speaker: Patrick D. Quinn (Email: quinnp@indiana.edu) Sponsored By: M. P. Meisenheimer
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



11/25/2019 --- Science's Greatest Woman: Marie Curie Speaker: Richard Gunderman (Email: rbgunder@iu.edu) Sponsored By: Jerry Kurlander
(Scribe Summary: HERE)



12/2/2019 --- White-collar Psychopaths. Speaker: Greg Wright (Email: cfegreg@gmail.com) Sponsored By: Greg Wright
(Scribe Summary: HERE)